A few facts about Normandy

  • Add to bookmark

Normandy is made up of five départements: Seine-Maritime, Eure, Calvados, Manche and Orne. Here are a few facts and figures on the region…

  • Normandy makes up 5% of the total area of France, and 5.5% of the total population of France
  • There are 3,330,478 inhabitants in Normandy, and they are known as ‘Normans’
  • There are 115 inhabitants on average per square kilometre
  • Normandy boasts 350 miles of coastline
  • Normandy has three UNESCO World Heritage Sites, the Mont-Saint-Michel, Le Havre and the Vauban fortifications in Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue
  • Granville Carnival, the Bayeux Tapestry and Alençon lace are also listed as UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage
  • The six largest cities and towns in Normandy are Rouen, Caen, Le Havre, Cherbourg, Evreux and Dieppe
  • There are 28 Michelin-starred restaurants in Normandy
  • Rouen’s 151m Notre-Dame Cathedral is the tallest in France. The city also boasts the second most listed buildings in France after Paris
  • There are four Regional Natural Parks in Normandy: Meanders of the Seine, Cotentin and Bessin Marshes, Normandie-Maine and the Perche