Abbey of Hambye

Religious buildings

Our Lady of Hambye Abbey was founded in 1145 along the river Sienne by Guillaume Painel, lord of Hambye. The abbey hosts Benedictine monks until the French Revolution. Partly dismantled in the 19th century, the abbey was saved in 1956 through the acquisition of the monastic buildings by Mr and Mrs Beck. The abbey church, the gatehouse and the lay brothers’ building were bought by the County Council of la Manche in 1964. Considerable works to restore and stabilize the remains of the abbey were undertaken. For more than 50 years the aim has been to preserve the dignity and beauty of the site and to improve its integration into the serenity of its fragile natural surroundings.
For a moment out of time, stroll through the monks’ old cloister at the foot of the church's imposing ruins, admire the fine architecture of the chapter house, jewel of norman gothic architecture and linger in the shade of Virginia tulip trees in the Eastern garden.
Protected as sensitive natural areas, the surroundings of the abbey offer multiple hiking trails to discover.
Throughout the summer, exhibitions and various workshops take place as well as concerts of medieval and sacred music.
Contact details

Abbey of Hambye

Route de l'Abbaye

50450 HAMBYE

Phone : 02 33 61 76 92

Fax : 02 33 61 99 91

Garden types




Base rate - full rate adult from 4 at 5.50 €
Child rate From 2.50 €
Rate for adult group from 3.15 at 3.50 €
Rate for adult group From 4.50 €
School group rate from 1.80 at 2 €
School group rate from 1 at 3 €
Means of payment

Debit cards

Postal or bank cheques

Holiday vouchers






Specialist conferences


Temporary exhibitions


Guided tour

Educational visits

Covered picnic area


Average time75 minutes75 minutes


Minimum number of people 15
Maximum number of people 50

Further information

Environment : In the country

Extra ideas...

To complete your trip...