St Vigor Chapel

Religious buildings

Chapelle Saint-Vigor: the apple-blossom chapel
A true work of art
Nestled in a rural setting, in complete harmony with the surrounding farms, a Chapel to St Vigor has been on this site since the thirteenth century. The current building, built for Guillaume de Vanembras, dates back to the 15th century with some later additions and changes.
The Vanembras family were buried in the nave of the chapel until 1737, where some inscriptions are still visible. The chapel fell into ruin and was finally closed to the public in 1983. The Japanese artist, Kyoji Takubo, first visited in 1987 and fell under its spell. He decided to create an art work from it. Work started in 1992 with the aid of Japanese and French sponsors.
The first thing restored were the roof timbers, followed by the main roof with the creation of the tiling which mixes old roof tiles with rainbow coloured glass tiles. The floor was relaid in steel and the walls covered in sheet lead on which the artists applied layers of different colour paint, finally on the last white layer he added the branches of apple trees. He then cut through the layers of paint to bring out the different colours of Normandy apple blossom.
Contact details

St Vigor Chapel


Phone : 02 31 90 17 26


Means of payment

Postal or bank cheques



Coach Parking


Average time30 minutes -
Further informationNon-guided visit: 45min. -


Coach parking
Groups acccepted
Minimum number of people 15
This chapel was originally built for Guillaume de Vanembras in the 15th century. During a visit in 1987, the Japanese artist Kyoji Takubo decided to restore it as a work of art. The roof is now covered with coloured glass tiles and where sheets of lead once hung from the walls, there are now paintings by the artist. The area surrounding the chapel has also been landscaped following the artist’s plans.