VERNEUIL D'AVRE ET D'ITON

Museum of Ironwork

Museums

Pets accepted
In the south of the Eure Department, near Verneuil d'Avre et d'Iton, learn more about the history of a village with a wrought-iron destiny and know more about ironwork and the tradition of blacksmiths... Thanks to "grison", a local iron ore, people of Francheville were pioneers in working with iron. In 1835, the village had no less than 400 forges for 1,800 inhabitants, and the last forge in the village closed down in 1988. Travel back in time at this charming little museum that showcases this traditional craft and embodies a whole slice of the village's history. As one curiosity leads to another, go to La Guéroulde (5 km/3 miles away), and visit the cemetery, which is worth the detour, to admire its imposing wrought iron pyramid built on top of Martin Duval's grave, a master of wrought iron work who died in 1836.
Contact details

Museum of Ironwork

Place de l'église
Francheville

27160 VERNEUIL D'AVRE ET D'ITON

Phone : 02 32 30 10 71

Booking

Obligatory for groups

Booking deadline : 1 week

Fixed telephone :

Type of reservation :

Direct reservation

Rates

Gratuities
Means of payment

Postal or bank cheques

Cash

Services

Pets accepted

Facility

Guided tour

Coach Parking

Restaurant

Visits

VisitsIndividualGroup
Visite guidées en permanence - yes
Average time45 minutes45 minutes

Group

Coach parking
Groups acccepted
Minimum number of people 10
Maximum number of people 20