Medieval Château of Montfort


Pets accepted
Between Brionne and Pont-Audemer, explore this stone sentinel that has overlooked the village of Montfort for nearly 1,000 years. The romantic ruins of this castle, dating back to the 11th and 12th centuries, to the Anglo-Norman period, provide a stunning view over the Risle valley. A place marked by great military feats at the time of the Duchy of Normandy, the castle was destroyed by John Lackland in 1204. Work has been done to enhance this heritage site. New information panels with QR codes allow visitors to better understand its history.
Contact details

Medieval Château of Montfort

Rue de l'Ecu, Les BruyèresAncien chemin de Boissey


Phone : 02 32 41 08 21

Mobile phone : 06 85 61 83 79


Obligatory for groups

Booking deadline : 2 weeks

Cellular telephone :

Type of reservation :

Direct reservation


Means of payment

Postal or bank cheques



Pets accepted


Learning activity

Supervised learning activity


Guided tour

Coach Parking

Covered picnic area


Visite guidées sur demande - yes
Average time60 minutes60 minutes
Further informationA booklet is available for free from the Tourist Office.
Signage on site comprising orientation tables and a welcome panel.
For groups, guided tour of the site's architecture and the lineage associated with the building. Commentaries on siege military techniques during the ducal period from the 11th-12th centuries.


Coach parking
Groups acccepted
Minimum number of people 5
Maximum number of people 50
Guided tour of the site History of the Montfort Family. Details about the architecture of the building. Facts about the history of the Duchy of Normandy. Development of attack and siege techniques.