DEAUVILLE

Sea trip onboard an old sloop

The François Monique is a scallop boat of the roadstead of Breast, built in the “Chantier du Fret” (Fret Shipyard) by Auguste Tertu. Launched in September 16th 1935, it was manufactured for Hervé Salaün, sailor in Lagona Daoulas, to fish scallops and collect marl (limestone sand for soil conditioning) and red algae to fertilize fields.
The origin of the ship’s baptismal name is:
1. François, after the ship’s godfather François Kermarrec, first sailor onboard.
2. Monique, Hervé Salaün’s niece.
In 2008, the old rigging is bought by Franck Brize and repatriated in Trouville-Deauville. During the same year, the Petit Foc association is founded and begins restoring the ship, renovating its Brest Bay shell boat character, with its colors, former rigging and starts retracing its history.
The main objective of this association is preserving the maritime heritage of Normandy and making the public discover traditional sailing through the "François Monique". This scallop boat participates to several events in the sea and in the ports of Calvados, sometimes even farther. Sea trips open to everybody are also organized as well as workshops in collaboration with local clubs.
Contact details

Sea trip onboard an old sloop

Port municipalà proximité de la porte du bassin

14800 DEAUVILLE

Mobile phone : 06 83 21 90 97

Booking

Fixed telephone :

Type of reservation :

Direct reservation

Rates

Base rate From 30 €
Means of payment

Postal or bank cheques

Opening times

Saturday 08/06/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 09/06/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 15/06/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 22/06/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 23/06/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 29/06/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 30/06/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 07/07/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 13/07/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 20/07/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 21/07/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 27/07/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 28/07/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 24/08/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 25/08/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 31/08/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 01/09/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 07/09/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 08/09/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 14/09/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 15/09/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 21/09/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 22/09/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 28/09/2019
From 11:00

Sunday 29/09/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 12/10/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 19/10/2019
From 11:00

Saturday 02/11/2019
From 11:00

thematics

Guided walk

Guided walk, Nature, Hikes/Walks, Visit