Protected as a Historical Monument by the October 29th 1975 decree, this enormous villa is located far from the seaside upon request of the Baron Henri de Rotschild. As a lover of races, he had the manor built near the racecourse. The villa was built in 1907 on the location of the Ferme du Coteau, property of novelist Gustave Flaubert since 1837. Caen architect Georges Pichereau, one of René-Jacques Baumier’s students, designed a building mixing academic architecture and the Pays d’Auge style. The Norman character of the villa was reinforced by the construction of a vast grass park with apple trees on the 2-hectare land. The foundations in opus incertum lined with beaded mortar joints are topped with a brick and stone ground-level positioned in a checked pattern and with a timber frame story, partially covered in broken tiles. An important canopy runs along most of the villa’s façades. The building’s picturesque aspect is enhanced by the profusion of architectural elements animating the elevations (turrets, bow-windows, big ground-floor terrace) and roof cavities (long-side, pavilion roofs topped with pyramidions, in the imperial style) ornamented with ceramic finials. The outdoor extravaganza opposes itself to the indoor simplicity. The west-oriented entry opens onto a central hall that leads to a smoking room, living room and the children’s dining room, bedroom and main south-wing stairway. The stairs lead to the private apartments on the first floor; a back staircase is reserved to the villa personnel. Inside, paintings and sculptures from artist Enrico Campagnola can also be admired. The villa was the property of Ralph Beaver Strassburger since 1924 and was bequeathed to the city by his heirs in 1980.