Cultural Season - Orchestre de l’Opéra de Rouen Normandie - Purcell, Debussy et Mozart

The Orchestre de l’Opéra de Rouen accompanies the productions of the Théâtre des arts/ Opéra de Normandie and delivers every season about fifty concerts, in Normandy, in France and in the main international capitals. Its first coming to Deauville celebrates and represents the advantages and new artistic dialogues of a reunified Normandy.
Henry Purcell, "Chaconne" in G minor
Preceded by a Passacaille, this meditative piece is structured over a seven-bar ground bass. It reflects, through its simplicity, the extraordinary expressive qualities making Purcell one of the most important composers of the baroque period.
Claude Debussy, "Danse sacrée et Danse profane"
Composed in April-May 1904, the "Danses" is the first partition completed by Debussy after the creation of "Pelléas" and "Mélisande". It was ordered by firm Pleyel, whose director Gustave Lyon (to whom the masterpiece is dedicated) had patented a chromatic harp without pedals and equipped with two plans of chords, including all notes. Through this instrument, Pleyel wanted to compete with the diatonic harp with pedals of which Érard had the monopoly. Unfortunately, his success was short-lived due to tuning difficulties. The Debussy partition, performed at a contest of the class of chromatic harp of the Conservatoire de Bruxelles in 1904, may be delightedly performed on a pedal harp. Its modal system, with a subtle archaism and delicate textures, reminds other old pieces by Debussy (the "Danseuses de Delphes", the stage music for the "Chansons de Bilitis" or the "Tarentelle styrienne"). The harp is a soloist instrument here: the chords create a jewel with transparent sonority - in the partition, Debussy explicitly evokes the “orchestra accompanying of chord instruments”. The “Danse sacrée” seems a saraband and uses a theme of the Dance of the Veil of the Portuguese Francisco de Lacerda, winning in 1904 a composition contest organized by Le Figaro, in which Debussy was one of the members of the jury. The "Danse profane” is a waltz full of charm, indolently whirling. The two pieces were publicly created on November 6, 1904 by Lucille Wurmser-Delcourt, while Édouard Colonne was directing the chords of his orchestra.
Mozart, symphony n°38 called “Prague” The Symphony n. 38 in D major called "Prague", KV 504, is a symphony composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart at the end of 1786, when the composer was about to turn 31.
In 1786, the Austrian public, frivolous and cold, seemed tired of Mozart’s music. His popularity was decreasing and the number of concerts delivered and their success was lower. In other words, his life had started to decline. Nevertheless, the esteem obtained in Prague, capital of Bohemia, was diminishing. To thank the city, Mozart performed, after Don Giovanni and The Marriage of Figaro, an unknown symphony, maybe written several months earlier, but never played in public: the Symphony n. 38 in D major called “Prague”.
Contact details

Cultural Season - Orchestre de l’Opéra de Rouen Normandie - Purcell, Debussy et Mozart

Salle Elie de Brignac


Mobile phone : 02 31 14 02 14


Cellular telephone :

Type of reservation :

Direct reservation


Base rate From 8 €

Opening times

Friday 22/06/2018
From 20:00



Cultural, Show, Theatre